De Proef Flanders Fred

Posted: November 20, 2016 in Belgian Strong Pale Ale, De Proefbrouwerij, Reviews

When I was at Local 44 in Philly, they also had this beer on tap. I had absolutely no idea what to expect from it and this was also my first beer from De Proef. It was also one of the few beers left on tap that I hadn’t reviewed, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

flandersfred

ABV: 7.5%

Style: Belgian Strong Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “The ‘proef’ brewery is specifically equipped for the development and production of beers for third parties. We brew on a relatively small scale: most often between 10 and 140 hectoliters per order. Our customers include beer architects (who most often contribute to their own recipe), start-up or existing breweries (who have their own recipe or a recipe that is jointly developed), and individual initiatives.”

Random: I thought their small logo glasses were adorable.

This beer poured with a one finger, thick and dimpled cream-colored head. It took awhile to dissipate, but left very little lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy amber with mild carbonation visible. The nose was filled with freshly milled grain and white wine grapes with a touch of lemon juice. The taste wasn’t tart. Instead, it was very dry and filled with white wine grapes. It had the same lightly toasted grain and some cracker from the yeast. I couldn’t pick up any booze from this one. It had a medium thick body with light carbonation. The finish was lengthy with grain and white grapes. A 10 ounce pour of this was $8 at a bar in Philly ($.80 per ounce). I really enjoyed this beer and glad I got it. I didn’t know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

