Tired Hands Moon Trip

Posted: November 21, 2016 in English Pale Mild Ale, Reviews, Tired Hands Brewing Company

We stopped at a new pizza place in Philly to grab food to take home and I had a pint while we were waiting. I was specifically looking for something lighter and since this came in at 3% and was from Tired Hands, I thought it would be a good choice.

tiredhandsmoonbase

ABV: 3%

Style: English Pale Mild Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Pennsylvania Golden Mild. 3.0% Brewed with Pa grown six row Pale and ‘Dutch’ malt from our friends at Deer Creek Malting. Hopped with the best hop in the world: Cascade. I hope you get it. Notes of golden raisins, freshly baked bread, sunlight, and bright honey.”

Random: I want to go back to London soon. I loved it when I went there as a child.

This beer poured with half a finger of white head that dissipated slowly. It left a lot of lacing on the pint glass. The body had some chill haze and was amber in color. There was moderate carbonation visible in the beer. The nose started with lightly bitter hops and old grass and then went into a bready quality that provided some sweetness. The taste had a mineral water quality to it that went well with the grass note. It also had the same bready quality and some sweetness from the honey. Despite this, to me, it was more like a traditional English pale than an English mild. It had a light body that made this really drinkable with moderate carbonation. The finish was swift with grass and mineral water. I believe I paid $6 for the pint ($38 per ounce). I enjoyed this beer a lot. It would make for a really good session beer, especially in the summer and you’re looking for something other than a witbier.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

