Wachusett Larry

Posted: November 26, 2016 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Reviews, Wachusett Brewing Company

I remember reading a review of this beer years ago. Needless to say, I forget if the review was favorable or not. Either way, I ended up with a six-pack of these cans and saved one for research purposes. I have only had a few beers from the brewery, although they do get some distribution to New Jersey. Let’s see how this beer was.

larry

ABV: 8.5%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: This brewery offers tours on every day but Sunday.

Random: The can art for this beer makes it look a bit dated. I think they should look into a redesign.

This beer poured with a one finger, thick, off-white head. It dissipated slowly and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was slightly hazy and high carbonation was visible through the cloudiness. The nose had light pine notes first and then a lot of caramel malt. The taste was a lot stronger than the nose. It had pine sap and grapefruit peel and an herbal note. It took me a few sips to place it. It reminded me of juniper. There was no malt on the taste. The body was incredibly thin with high carbonation. For a double IPA, I was shocked that the body was so thin. It had a lengthy finish with pine and juniper. This beer was another gift, so no commentary on price. I thought this beer was alright, but it’s just a middle of the road DIPA to me. I wouldn’t rush back to have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

