Trappist Rochefort 6

Posted: November 29, 2016 in Brasserie De Rochefort, Dubbel, Reviews

How I haven’t had this beer yet is beyond me. I was at the beer store and checked the blog thinking that I’d reviewed it and I was terribly wrong. I tried it the same night it came home from the beer store.

rochefort6

ABV: 7.5%

Style: Dubbel

Trivia: According to merchantduvin.com, “Rochefort Trappist 6 is named after its original gravity measured in ‘Belgian degrees’ – a brewing scale no longer used today. It was first sold to the public in 1953. Reddish-brown color with amber-gold highlights; soft body leads to earthy flavors and an herbal character. Refined, soft spiciness in the bouquet finishes with a bit caramel. Bottle-conditioned for soft natural carbonation.”

Random: I could go for a pretzel right now.

This beer poured with a three finger, thin, khaki colored head. It dissipated quickly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was cloudy and mahogany colored. There was a lot of carbonation visible and some floaties as well. The nose had dates and figs along with yeast. There was a lot of coriander spice with some cocoa powder. The taste was all dark fruit. I picked up raisins, dates, figs and tobacco. There was a lot of bread and spice with coriander as well. I also picked up some nutmeg. It had a thick body with ridiculously high carbonation. The finish was lengthy with raisins and dates. Yeast and spice remained on the tongue as well. I bought this bottle for $5.45, which came to $.46 per ounce. This beer was simply exceptional. I haven’t had a dubbel in a long time and this beer could easily be the benchmark I use for the style now.

Untappd Rating: 4.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

