Berkshire Brewing Company Raspberry Strong Ale

Posted: November 30, 2016 in American Strong Ale, Berkshire Brewing Company Inc., Reviews

Since my transfer, I spend a lot less time in the car. The only downside is that most days, I have to be in work by 4 or 5 AM. Val hates this. I usually get up around 2:30 AM or 3 AM and get in the shower. I try to be as quiet as possible and turn on as few lights as possible so as to not wake her. The cats, on the other hand, think I’m up specifically to play with them and want me to pet them. Eventually, it should feel normal to get up that early…I hope.

farmstand

ABV: 9%

Style: American Strong Ale

Trivia: This is a winter seasonal.

Random: My office is freezing right now. It can’t ever be a comfortable temperature.

This beer poured with a one finger, cream-colored head. It dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the snifter. The body was a clear, cherry color. There was visible detritus in the body with no carbonation visible. The nose had raspberry extract and overripe raspberries. I couldn’t get anything else on this. The taste had syrupy raspberry extract with honey and light spice. It had a floral characteristic to it as well. This tasted nothing like a barleywine to me. The body was much lighter than a typical barleywine, although the sweetness was cloying. It had very little carbonation. The finish was lengthy and sweet with overripe raspberries. I have no idea what the price of the beer was since I got this as a gift, but I wouldn’t buy this one. It had no balance to it. At least the booze was hidden.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

