Jack’s Abby Vanilla Barrel-Aged Framinghammer

Posted: December 1, 2016 in Baltic Porter, Jack's Abby Brewing, Reviews

I’ve finally gotten through my backlog of reviews. I also took a week off from drinking and reviewing. I think that I’ll have something special tonight to celebrate getting through all of these reviews. This beer specifically is one that I was very excited to try. Anything that is barrel aged tends to be in wheelhouse and I don’t think I’ve ever had a barrel aged beer from Jack’s Abby.

vanillabourbonframinghammer

ABV: 10%

Style: Baltic Porter

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Big, bold, black, and aged in bourbon barrels with vanilla beans. The lengthy conditioning period in the barrels creates a silky smooth chocolatey mouth feel enhanced by the use of oats and brown sugar. Noticeable sweetness gets balanced by roasted malt and hop bitterness. Additional flavors include bourbon, vanilla, and oak.”

Random: This beer is an April release.

The brew poured with a one finger, khaki colored head that dissipated at a moderate pace and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a dark brown with no visible carbonation due to the color. The nose had bourbon, leather and tobacco with tons of smoke. The taste was filled with oak, bourbon and smoke. It had a caramel note too. I also picked up some toasted malt and some booze. It had a thick body with light carbonation. The finish was lengthy with booze, oak and smoke. I enjoyed this beer quite a lot, especially because it was free. If I saw it on the shelf again, I would pick it up to see how it aged.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

