Redd’s Strawberry Ale

Posted: December 12, 2016 in Fruit/Vegetable Beer, Miller Brewing Co, Reviews

Tonight’s selection is something I picked up for Val. Yes, I realize that it’s a macro product, but Val tends to like strawberry things and this was available as a single, so it came home with me. I have resigned myself to the fact that this may be terrible. I also hate their commercials and find them a bit obnoxious. Well, let’s get this over with.

reddsstrawberry

ABV: 5%

Style: Fruit/Vegetable Beer

Trivia: This only has 165 calories per serving.

Random: A clear bottle is never a good sign.

This beer poured with almost no head. What was there was pure white and dissipated almost instantly. It left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear amber with a lot of carbonation visible. The nose was filled with artificial strawberry syrup and grain. I gave it a few minutes to warm up, thinking that I would get other scents, but I was sadly mistaken. The taste was filled with the same artificial strawberry note. It was ridiculously sweet with nothing to balance it out. It had a white sugar characteristic along with gummy bears. There was a hint of grain at the end, but this was a total sugar bomb. The body on this was on the lighter side with seltzer-like carbonation. The finish was lengthy with strawberry syrup. A bottle of this set me back $1.50 ($.13 per ounce). This reminded me more of a wine cooler than a beer. I can guarantee I won’t be having this one again (willingly).

Untappd Rating: 1.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

