Night Shift Trifecta

Posted: December 15, 2016 in Belgian Strong Pale Ale, Night Shift Brewing, Reviews

Hot tubs gross me out. I’m watching a commercial with people in a hot tub and they just make me think of a tub of bacteria. Anyways, let’s get to the beer.

trifecta

ABV: 7%

Style: Belgian Strong Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Belgian-style pale ale aged with vanilla beans & fermented with three Trappist yeast strains; zesty hops, gentle malts, and a clean, smooth profile.”

Random: I love the can art from Night Shift. I also like owls, so that helps. If a brewery used an otter on their labels, I would have to buy that.

This beer poured with a half a finger of white head. It dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a golden-copper color with moderate carbonation. On the nose, I picked up golden raisins, Belgian yeast, spice and a touch of alcohol. I didn’t get any of the vanilla bean that was advertised on the can. But, I was pleasantly surprised by the taste. There was some vanilla up front, along with the same golden raisins that were in the nose. There was also Belgian yeast, coriander and a touch of apricot at the end. It had a thick body with a lot of carbonation, which made this insanely drinkable. The finish was quick with coriander and yeast. The flavors in the beer were well-balanced and the addition of vanilla was unique and interesting. Since this was a gift, I’m not sure how much it was, but I would get this one again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

