SweetWater Hash Session IPA

Posted: December 18, 2016 in American IPA, Reviews, SweetWater Brewing Company

Session IPAs are still a huge thing. I like the style (if you can even call it that) as long as it has a decent amount of flavor to back it up. SweetWater is a relatively new brewery to the New Jersey market, so Val picked this one up for me to try.

hash session

ABV: 4.2%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “It might’ve taken us 17 years to get around to it, but we’re finally putting cans in your hands. We’re slingin 12-packs of 420, IPA and Take Two Pils in 12 oz. cans, plus 420 and IPA in 16 oz big boys.”

Random: The reason I posted this trivia is because I think this beer would have been better in a can. I always picture session IPAs in cans.

This beer poured with a one finger, thick and pillowy white head. It dissipated slowly and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, straw yellow with moderate carbonation visible. On the nose, I got some pine needles and a pine cleaner with grass and lemon verbena. One thing that I didn’t pick up was malt. The taste did have caramel malt, although it still let the hops shine through. It was grassy and had a touch of sweetness from orange zest. But again, the citrus in the taste reminded me of a cleaner as opposed to pleasant hoppy flavors. The body was also a bit too thick for a session beer and needed some more carbonation. The finish was quick and malty with orange wood cleaner. I picked this up for $1.90, which broke down to $.16 per ounce. I had high hopes for this beer, but it just wasn’t for me.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

