Magnify Pollinator Farmhouse IPA

Posted: December 21, 2016 in American IPA, Magnify Brewing, Reviews

On the way home from New York, Val and I stopped at a beer bar that I’ve been wanting to try for years. It wasn’t in the best neighborhood, but the selection on tap was stellar. I decided to try a beer from a brewery that is right by where I grew up in North Jersey. I’ve never tried anything from them before, so I was curious to see if the hype they get online is warranted.

pollinator

ABV: 7.2%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Pollinator is a Farmhouse IPA intensely hopped with mostly Cascade and supplemented slightly with Centennial hops. We added locally sourced honey in the boil to add hints of honey flavor and aroma.”

Random: This beer was first released in November of 2015.

This beer poured with two fingers of white head. It dissipated quickly and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy yellow color with no visible carbonation due to the cloudiness. On the nose, I picked up a lot of citrus with some light, grassy bitterness. The taste started with some honey sweetness and quickly went into bitter citrus flesh and citrus pith. There was some grass too. The booze was well-hidden. The body was shockingly light with high carbonation, making this very (dangerously) drinkable. It had a quick bitter, citrus finish. I really enjoyed this beer and was impressed with my first beer from Magnify. I’ll be trying more from them in the future.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

