Avery Raja

Posted: December 26, 2016 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Avery Brewing Company, Reviews

One of the first beers that I searched out when I started the blog was Avery Maharaja. At this point in my adventure in craft beer, almost anything could blow my mind flavor-wise, but I was very impressed by that beer. When I heard they were released what appeared to be an updated version in cans, I was curious to see if it matched up to what I remembered about the beer and enjoying so much.

raja

ABV: 8%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Brazenly bitter. Dashingly dry-hopped. Raja is an audacious addition to our lengthy lineage of intrepid IPAs. Hops for all! All for hops!”

Random: This beer is available in cans and on draft.

This beer poured with a one finger, white head that dissipated quickly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was bright yellow in color and had some chill haze as well. Despite that, I could see a decent amount of carbonation in the beer. The nose started with grass, sweet malt and a touch of alcohol. The taste had a lot more pine, which was quickly backed up by a sweet malt backbone with a lot of caramel. There was also some pine sap and crushed pine needs to tit as well. It had a thick and chewy body with high carbonation. The finish was lengthy with pine. The alcohol wasn’t nearly as pronounced in the taste as the nose. I picked this up for $2.17 a can, which broke down to $.18 per ounce. To get a quality can of a DIPA, that price is quite stellar. I highly recommend this one.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

