Stillwater Is Nothing Big Bunny Is Everything

Posted: January 2, 2017 in Milk/Sweet Stout, Reviews, Stillwater Artisanal Ales

When I saw a single of this beer on the shelf, I had to pick it up if only for the name. Val’s nickname for me is “bunny,” so this was coming home with me. It’s been awhile since I’ve had a Stillwater beer and their packaging keeps evolving, which I’m a fan of. Let’s crack this one open.

stillwaterbigbunny

ABV: 8%

Style: Milk/Sweet Stout

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Big Bunny is everything. An Arizona Wilderness collab that we may regret.”

Random: I have something like a 100 post backlog. This is the only issue with posting so far in advance. When I got busy at work, I kept reviewing, just not typing the reviews.

This beer poured with a half a finger of tan head. It dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass, but a small crown on top. The body was dark brown and wouldn’t let any light through. As a result, I couldn’t see any carbonation. The nose was roasty with smoke and instant coffee. After a few sniffs, I picked up some cocoa powder. The taste had even more smoke than the nose with milk chocolate. It had a milk powder taste as well from the lactose. The instant coffee note was there, but wasn’t as prevalent as the nose. It didn’t have much bitterness and the booze was well-hidden. The body was thick and chewy with light carbonation. The finish was quick, yet had some milk chocolate and lactose. A can of this was $1.75, which came to $.15 per ounce. This was a good price, and a good name for a beer, but the flavor didn’t deliver.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

