Brewer’s Art Resurrection

Posted: January 14, 2017 in Dubbel, Reviews, The Brewer's Art

One of the worst things about traveling so much is that I tend to work more since I don’t have anyone to come home to. As a result, I’m quite a bit backlogged. One of the other things that I’m not a big fan of is eating at chain restaurants all the time. I kept trying to find a place in Ohio with decent Italian food and I couldn’t find anything in the suburb I was in. Now that I’m home, I’ve got all the Italian food I want.

resurrection

ABV: 7%

Style: Dubbel

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “The seven percent solution. A delightfully full-bodied yet easy to drink abbey brown ale that has become our flagship brand, thanks to Baltimore’s loyalty.”

Random: I also miss having a washer and dryer when I travel. I love doing laundry.

The beer poured with a two finger, cream-colored head. It dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy, mahogany color. I didn’t see much carbonation in it. The nose was sweet with dates and prunes and other dark fruit. It also had some brown sugar sweetness. The taste was equally sweet and malty. I picked up raisins, dates, and caramel sweetness complemented by Belgian candi sugar. There was some alcohol to this beer and it drank like more than the 7% ABV. The body was thick and almost syrupy with moderate carbonation. It had a lengthy and sweet finish. This was a solid beer that would make for a great sipper in the winter. But, the price of the beer was $2.75, which is $.23 an ounce, which is on the pricier side. If you haven’t tried it and you like Dubbels, you won’t go wrong with this one.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

