Flying Dog Mint Julep Ale (Brewhouse Rarities)

Posted: January 15, 2017 in American Blonde Ale, Flying Dog Brewery, Reviews

One of the things that I had in Ohio which I enjoyed was peppered white gravy. I used to not be a big fan of it, but since I found it at restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner, I started to get used to it. That type of gravy reminds me of the south, much like a mint julep, which this beer is based on.

mintjulepale

ABV: 6%

Style: American Blonde Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “If you’re not drinking this during the decadence and depravity that is the Triple Crown, you’re doing it wrong.”

Random: I think that breweries are starting to jump on the bandwagon of making beers based on cocktails. So far, I’m enjoying the trend.

The brew poured with a one finger, pure white head that dissipated instantly. It left no lacing on the glass. The body was clear and straw yellow. There was a decent amount of carbonation visible through the body. The nose had a lot of mint leaves up front with a floral note right after that reminded me of honeysuckle. Based on the nose, I thought that I was really going to enjoy this beer, but the taste was like the noise on steroids. It started with intense spearmint extract and grain after. A toasted oak characteristic came after, but the mint muted any other flavors that were in there. It had a body that was very light to the point of being watery with high carbonation. The finish was lengthy and I couldn’t get rid of the peppermint taste. I picked the bottle up for $2.08, which broke down to $.17 per ounce. I just wasn’t a fan of this beer, perhaps because I’ve never had the cocktail before, so I lack a frame of reference?

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

