Moa Cider – Kiwifruit

Posted: February 2, 2017 in Cider, Moa Brewing Company, Reviews

I think I’m finally a morning person. Even on my days off, if I don’t set an alarm, I’m up by 5 AM at the latest. I always have these grandiose ideas that I’ll get to sleep in, but I never manage to. Since I have a cold, I’ve managed to sleep about 12 hours on and off today. Anyways, let’s get to the cider.

moakiwifruit

ABV: 5.6%

Style: Cider

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Made from 100% New Zealand grown apples and natural kiwifruit flavor, Moa Kiwifruit Cider has a typical crisp­ apple aroma, with a unique, tropical kiwifruit twist.”

Random: I love when kiwis are in a fruit salad, even though the seeds get stuck in my teeth.

The cider poured with a half a finger of white head that dissipated instantly. It left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, greenish-yellow color with lots of carbonation visible. The nose was fragrant with kiwi, white grape and oak. Green apples came through next. The taste was dry and crisp. It had a touch of sweetness and acid from the kiwi with oak and vanilla. It had a lot of complexity to it and the oak note gave it some warmness. The body was medium thickness with lots of carbonation. It had a quick finish with kiwi flesh and green apples. A bottle of this ran me $12.99, which broke down to $.59 per ounce. I really enjoyed this cider. The kiwi tasted authentic and it worked really well with the other flavors. I would highly recommend purchasing this one.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

