Coronado MerBear Rye IPA

Posted: February 14, 2017 in American IPA, Coronado Brewing Company, Reviews

Tonight’s beer is one that Val insisted we get because of the name. It also had an adorable graphic on the bomber. I didn’t know it was a collaboration with Bear Republic until I bought it either, but that would have given me even more reason to buy it.

merbear

ABV: 7.5%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “This limited-edition Rye IPA is a collaboration with Northern California’s fiercely iconic Bear Republic Brewing Co. With Amarillo, Hallertau Blanc, Centennial and Equinox hops, this beer’s got a pungent, fruity character that ends on a spicy, malty caramel backbone. Try this unforgettably robust ale. It’s the best of both worlds and the beast of all brews.”

Random: The empty bottle is sitting on my bar, pricetag and all.

The brew poured with a three finger, off white head that dissipated slowly and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was a dark mahogany with a lot of carbonation visible. The nose had notes of pine and really spice rye along with grass. I couldn’t pick up any other malt except for the rye. The taste started with some aggressive rye spice. After that, it went into grass and pine. More malt came through on the taste and manifested in caramel, nutty malt. One of the things that surprised me was that I picked up some of the alcohol on this. It had a medium-thick body with high carbonation. The finish was all rye spice and lingered on the tongue for a while. A bomber of this set me back $9.99, which came to $.45 per ounce. I thought this beer was solid. It didn’t floor me, but I appreciated how prevalent the rye spice on it was. If you can still find this collaboration on shelves, I’d give it a shot.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

