Round Guys Southbound Pachyderm

Posted: February 18, 2017 in Oatmeal Stout, Reviews, Round Guys Brewing Company

Tonight’s beer is one that I really enjoyed when I had it on draft at the brewery. I will openly admit that I think these beers can border (and sometimes go over the line) of gimmicky. But, if they’re done well, they can be quite solid. Let’s see how this one was out of the can.

southboundpachyderm

ABV: 6.6%

Style: Oatmeal Stout

Trivia: The only thing the website says is that a 6.6% Oatmeal Stout. I guess they like to keep things simple.

Random: As a child, I only liked smooth peanut butter. As an adult, I prefer chunky.

This beer poured with a huge, four finger, tan head. It took forever to dissipate and left a lot of lacing. The body was a dark brown with little visible carbonation due to how dark the body was. The nose was filled with chocolate and sweet peanut butter. It also had a roasted peanut quality as well. After giving this beer a few sniffs, I was very excited to try it. Unfortunately, the taste wasn’t nearly as good as the nose. It started with milk chocolate and peanut butter, but the balance wasn’t there and I was hoping for some more peanut butter. It had a very slight berry note at the end which was a bit odd. It had a quick milk chocolate finish with some roast. I picked a can of this up for $4, which came to $.33 per ounce. This was a good beer and I’m glad I tried it, I just wish it had more peanut notes.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

