Dogfish Head SeaQuench Ale

Posted: February 25, 2017 in Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, Gose, Reviews

One of the things that surprised me about Hilton Head was how many themed restaurants they have. They didn’t have many chain restaurants, but all of them had a theme. This one was Rat pack era Italian food. When we got there, I fully expected the food to be terrible. I was more than pleasantly surprised with my meal as well as my beer choice.

seaquench

ABV: 4.9%

Style: Gose

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Our session sour quencher brewed with lime peel, black limes & sea salt”

Random: This is their seasonal release in August and September. I had this in August, so now you can truly gauge how long my backlog is.

This beer poured with very little head that was pure white and dissipated instantly. It left no lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy orange with no carbonation visible because of the cloudiness. The nose was surprisingly pungent for the ABV with sour lemon, fresh cracked black pepper and lime wedges. The taste was even better. It had a significant amount of bright lemon with the same cracked black pepper. I never thought that those two things would go together in a beer, but colored me impressed. It followed up with some salt and lemon juice with lemon pith. The body was light, without being watery. It had generous carbonation that made this an easy drinker. The finish was quick with lime juice. This beer paired well with the linguini and clam sauce that I had and the weather in South Carolina. I will definitely be grabbing this again this summer.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

