Edmund’s Oast Lomticks & Hoppywops

Posted: March 3, 2017 in American IPA, Edmund's Oast, Reviews

While we were in Charleston, we visited Fort Sumter. When I studied the Civil War in history, I had no idea that you needed to take a boat to get to the fort. It was a really nice boat ride and we saw a lot of dolphins. I also enjoyed walking around the fort and seeing the museum inside as well. If you’re ever in Charleston, I highly recommend it, unlike this beer…

lomticksandhoppywops

ABV: 5%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Toasty dark brown IPA with big citrus tones & a dry minerality, real horror show.”

Random: Even though I didn’t love the beer, the name of it was great.

The brew poured with a half a finger of cream-colored head. It dissipated quickly, but left lots of lacing on the glass. The body was a dark brown color. I couldn’t see any carbonation due to how dark the body was. The nose was filled with menthol and herbaceous notes and then was followed up with brown bread. Based on the nose, I had no idea what to expect. The taste was incredibly dank with pine needles, green Ny Quil and grapefruit pith. I expected to get a decent amount of malt to balance it, but it wasn’t anywhere to be found. The body was thick and chewy with a lot of carbonation to back it up. The finish was lengthy with the same menthol/herbaceous note. I liked this beer, but it was a bit out of balance for my liking.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

