Columbus Pale Ale

Posted: March 8, 2017 in American Pale Ale, Columbus Brewing Company, Reviews

I flew back from Columbus the day before my birthday. I had a bunch of time to kill and ended up at one of the bars in my terminal. For those of you who haven’t been to Columbus Airport, it is relatively small compared to any airport in the New Jersey area. This flight also marked the many times I got pulled at security for a groin check. Since I didn’t fly much before this, I didn’t think it made sense to ask for a private room, but man, did they get personal. At least buy me a beer first?

columbuspale

ABV: 5.5%

Style: American Pale Ale

Trivia: The brewery website no longer has information about this beer on the website. I’m not sure if they stopped making it or what, but I’m glad I got to try it.

Random: This was the only other local brew they had when I flew out. Luckily, this changed since I ended up spending so much time going through this airport.

This beer poured with less than half a finger of white head. It dissipated quickly and left limited lacing on the glass. The body was slightly hazy and orange in color. There was light carbonation visible, which was surprising for a pale ale. The nose was light and grassy and immediately went into sweet malt. The taste had notes of wet grass and bitter hops, but was quickly balanced out by caramel malt. I also picked up some orange rind after a few sips. The body was medium thickness with just enough carbonation. It had a quick, slightly sweet finish from the malt. This was a solid pale ale and one that I had no problem throwing back. It wasn’t bad for an airport beer.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

