2SP Oak Aged Dead Of Night

Posted: March 15, 2017 in 2SP Brewing Company, Reviews, Saison/Farmhouse Ale

This was the second beer that I had at 2SP. The place had a really nice vibe. The front part had the full bar and some high top bar tables. The back part was mostly tables and booths. The service was quick and I ordered the fried brussels sprouts, which I had at the Delaware location and enjoyed. I don’t know if I built them up too much in my mind, but they weren’t nearly as good as I remembered. Let’s see if the second beer was better than the brussels sprouts.

oakageddeadofnight

ABV: 9.1%

Style: Saison/Farmhouse Ale

Trivia: This is aged in American oak.

Random: I wish there was a decent gastropub by our house. We have to drive at least 15-20 minutes to find one.

The brew poured with a half a finger of tan head that dissipated slowly and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was almost black in color with no visible carbonation. The nose had some golden fruit up front. I picked up some apricot and peach. There was vanilla too. The taste was even more fruity than the nose with red wine notes and red grapes. Toasted oak and vanilla came through next with yeast. There was also some spice that came through too with smoke. The body was medium thick with moderate carbonation. The finish was lengthy with smoke and fruit. I thought this beer was really interesting and the oak gave it more depth. If you see this one on tap and you like saisons, give this one a shot.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

