Vault Amber Saison

Posted: April 11, 2017 in Reviews, Saison/Farmhouse Ale, Vault Brewing Company

Tonight’s selection is another beer from Vault. I can’t remember if I’ve ever had a saison aged in a gin barrel, but it sounded like it would be a combination that would work for the style. Unfortunately, I didn’t get the dark fruit as much as I got the gin barrel, but I think it varies based on the batch. Let’s see what other notes I picked up.

ambersaison

ABV: 7.1%

Style: Saison/Farmhouse Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Aged in gin barrels for 8 months. Fruity and spicy with notes of dark cherry, fruitcake, and sherry with a mild tartness.”

Random: Gin is one of the spirits that I’ve developed an affinity for, although I don’t have it much.

The brew poured with a one finger, cream-colored head. It dissipated at a moderate pace and left a lot of spiderweb lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy, mahogany color with generous carbonation. The nose was filled with juniper, pine and then went into the typical scents of a saison with yeast and lemon. The taste had oak and gin with juniper. It then went into notes of wheat, lemon verbena and cucumber. It had a touch of booze at the end of the sip. The body was on the thin side with moderate carbonation. It had a lengthy and herbal finish. This was one of the more unique beers that I’ve ever had from Vault. I was impressed by this one and I would have it again in a second. If you see it on tap, order a glass of it.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

