Uinta Ready Set Gose

Posted: May 9, 2017 in Gose, Reviews, Uinta Brewing Company

So, I’m off for the rest of the week before I start my new job. It’s really rainy here and I got an oil change this morning. I also got Val’s watch a new battery and am trying to take a stain out of the marble tile in the bathroom downstairs. I also did the dishes and have a load of laundry going. Val has already yelled at to me relax, which I seemingly have any issue doing. So, I’ve parked myself on the couch to bang out a few reviews.

readysetgose

ABV: 4%

Style: Gose

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “This tart and salty ale smells of fresh lemon rind and coastal sea breeze. Wheat malts give this beer flavors of freshly baked bread and coriander.”

Random: If not for anything else, this beer gets points for the punny name.

This beer poured with a half a finger of pure white head. It dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was clear and straw yellow in color. There was a lot of carbonation that was visible in the body. The nose had sea salt and coriander up front with lemon zest. The first thing that struck me was that it wasn’t nearly tart enough for the style. It did have the sea salt and coriander not, but just needed that tartness. The body was heavier than normal for the style with high carbonation. It had a quick and unremarkable finish. A can of this was $1.37, which came $.11 per ounce, which was really affordable, but just needed more tartness. There are many other goses on the shelf that I would reach for before this one.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

