Ensenada Horchata Porter

Posted: May 11, 2017 in American Porter, Ensenada Brewing Co., Reviews

I have to admit, I’m not all that familiar with the Mexican craft beer scene. I’ve tried a few different ones when I used to go to beerfests (although I’m hoping now that I’m off on Saturdays, this will change), but I don’t remember any standouts. This one is a take on a classic Mexican drink and even domestic breweries are making their own version of them, like Cigar City and Almanac. Let’s see how this one stacks up.

horchataporter

ABV: 6%

Style: American Porter

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Accents of cinnamon and locally grown vanilla distinguish this exceptional porter from its traditional base. Created from brown rice, chocolate malt, and roasted barley, this porter is sure to please any palate.”

Random: I’ve never had an actual Horchata.

This beer poured with a half a finger of cream-colored head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a dark brown with no visible carbonation due to the darkness of the body. The nose was filled with dark, roasted malts, lactose and cinnamon. The taste also had roasted malts along with some smoke. It had limited spice manifesting as cinnamon and nutmeg. It also had an old milk powder note, like old malted milk balls. It also had some dusty chocolate with a note of sweetness from the lactose. It had a thick body with moderate carbonation. The finish was lengthy with the same dusty chocolate note. I forgot how much I paid for this beer, but it was a total miss for me. Conceptually, I liked where it was going, it just failed to execute.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

