Rhinegeist Truth

Posted: May 13, 2017 in American IPA, Reviews, Rhinegeist Brewery

My first week working out in Ohio, I had to do load out the morning of and fly out that afternoon. I was covering for a manager who quit. After I landed, I headed to the convenience store by my hotel and was shocked to see them selling beer. Apparently most gas stations and convenience stores sell beer. So, I picked up a six-pack of this for the hotel room.

truth

ABV: 7.2%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Rare are moments of truth, when you’ve struck the last match, belting out tunes with your friends, staring deep into the campfire – times when you feel infinite. Our Truth is found in the scintillating brilliance of hops. Brewed with a nod to the Pacific, hops sizzle with tropical fruit aroma, grapefruit and mango notes and a dry finish.”

Random: Sorry for the picture being blurry and only the can. I forgot to take one when I poured it into my plastic cup, provided by the hotel.

This beer poured with a half a finger of ecru colored head. It dissipated slowly and shockingly, left some lacing on the plastic cup. The body was a copper color and clear with moderate carbonation visible. On the nose, I picked up mango, pineapple and some grapefruit pith. There was also biscuit-like malt to back it up. The taste was equally crisp and hoppy. I picked up the same grapefruit pith along with mango and tangerine segments. It quickly went into biscuit malt, but was well-balanced. The body was on the thicker side with moderate carbonation. It had a lengthy finish with tropical fruit hops. A can of this was $1.67, which broke down to $.14 per ounce. This beer was solid and would be a go-to for me if it came out to Jersey. If you find yourself in the Midwest, this beer is one you need to pick up.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

