Land-Grant Stiff Arm IPA

Posted: May 21, 2017 in American IPA, Land-Grant Brewing Company, Reviews

This beer is one that I sampled in the Columbus airport. Every Saturday, before my flight, I found myself at the same restaurant, getting a bite to eat and watching ESPN. It was to the point that the bartender knew I’d be there at the same time every Saturday. This was a new IPA that they got in cans. The brewery is also putting a restaurant in the airport, but of course, it wasn’t slated to open until months after I left.

stiffarm

ABV: 6.7%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Like a palm to your jaw, our American IPA delivers a jolt of hoppy goodness. An ale as well rounded as any All-Timer, our Stiff-Arm IPA combines all of its talents: All American hops, fragrant aromas of citrus and pine, a clean finish, and an uncanny sense of balance provided by a nice malt backing. It’s a classic American beer that will have you striking the pose year-round.”

Random: This beer comes in at 50 IBUs.

The beer poured with a half a finger of white head that dissipated quickly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy orange with little visible carbonation because of the cloudiness. The nose was floral with an almost perfume-like quality. It had some citrus hops as well. The taste was equally floral, but also grassy and had a green, vegetal quality. After a few sips, I identified arugula and green onion. It had a medium thick body with moderate carbonation. The finish was lengthy with the green onion note. This was an interesting IPA and the vegetal notes held my interest. If I ever find myself in Ohio, I’ll be searching this one out.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

