Davidson Brothers Irish Red

Posted: May 22, 2017 in Davidson Brothers Restaurant & Brewery, Irish Red Ale, Reviews

This beer was the one that I had when I came home from Ohio. My cousin brought a bunch of beers to a family reunion party and the brewery is right by his house in upstate New York.

davidsonred

ABV: 5%

Style: Irish Red Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “The Irish Red has a distinct reddish tinge with a medium body and a sweet maltiness. The hop flavor is potent, using aromatic British hops, although it doesn’t rise to the level of an IPA. Another session beer, this is for those who want a nice flavorful beer with a supple hop zest, without rising to the thundering flavor of the IPA.”

Random: My feet are freezing. Val got me heavier socks for Christmas and I think I need to put them on.

The brew poured with half a finger of white head that dissipated slowly. It left some lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy, mahogany color with a lot of visible carbonation. The nose had peat and lots of malt that was toasted. It had a subtle rye scent to it. The taste also had the spicy rye note that was apparent in the nose. Peat came through next and the sip finish with sweetness that reminded me of caramel candy. It had a medium body with high carbonation. The finish was lengthy with spice and peat. Since my cousin gave me this beer as a gift, I have no idea how much it was. This beer had some nice flavor to it and although it didn’t floor me, I would have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

