Captain Lawrence Hudson Valley Harvest – Sour Strawberry

Posted: May 23, 2017 in American Wild Ale, Captain Lawrence Brewing Co., Reviews

Whenever Val and I watch any house shows, I’m absolutely shocked by home prices outside of the tri-state area. We’re both New York transplants to Jersey, albeit I came to the dark side much earlier than she did, but anywhere outside of this area is so much cheaper. I will say where we are is much cheaper than where Val grew up in Westchester, which is close to where this brewery is.

sourstrawberry

ABV: 6.5%

Style: American Wild Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “We love local Hudson Valley, NY ingredients. And when we buy local, we help ensure a strong future for local products and our community. We’re proud to partner with local farmers and choose fruit crops that are harvested at their peak of freshness and flavor, then fermented in aged oak barrels for a unique and delicious SOUR Ale.”

Random: Val loves strawberries, although my favorite berry is the blackberry.

This beer was corked and caged. When I popped the cork out, it gushed all over my counter and sink. After I cleaned up and got it into the glass, it was nice and agitated. This resulted in a five-finger white head that dissipated slowly. It left a lot of lacing on my Teku glass. The body was hazy orange color with no visible carbonation. The nose was pungent with apricots, strawberries and funk. I didn’t get any oak on the nose. The taste had the funk turned down slightly. It had some toasted oak, vanilla and light strawberry. There was some bready yeast as well, but the flavor was really mild, too much so, in my opinion. The body was watery with light carbonation. It had a quick finish with strawberry and lightly toasted oak. This was an expensive beer at $14.99 for the bottle ($1.18 per ounce). I wanted to love this beer, but the flavors were just too mild for me.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

