2 Tones SunRaze Hoppy Kolsch

Posted: June 4, 2017 in 2 Tones Brewing Co., Kolsch, Reviews

This was another selection that I had in Ohio. One of the managers that I was training wanted to come out for a beer, so I took him to Hop Yard 62. He lives in the Short North, which is a really cute neighborhood in Columbus that he took me to watch a Blue Jackets game. One thing that struck me at the bar is how many random conversations I had at that bar. Everyone in Ohio is ridiculously friendly, which I’m not used to, but was a welcomed change. I had a lot of great conversations about beer at the bar.

sunraze

ABV: 5.7%

Style: Kolsch

Trivia: This comes in at 42 IBUs.

Random: The bar also had a great soundtrack going. One afternoon, we played “Guess That Tune.”

This beer poured with a quarter of a finger of pure white head. The head was really thick and took awhile to dissipate. It left a decent amount of lacing on the glass. The body was slightly hazy and bright yellow. There was a lot of carbonation visible. The nose was filled with grass, river stones and mineral water. The taste had a touch of citrus, but was dominated by a grainy malt. It also had mineral water and river stones. The body was light and bright with lots of carbonation, making it very drinkable. It had a quick finish with mineral water. This wasn’t the best kolsch that I’ve ever had, but was a great beer to kill during Happy Hour. I would have this one again.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

