New Jersey Beer Company Chairman Of The Gourd

Posted: June 13, 2017 in New Jersey Beer Company, Pumpkin Ale, Reviews

This was a beer that Val ordered. She tends to like pumpkin beers and this was a local one. I still haven’t made my way up to this brewery, but eventually I’ll get up there. I’ve had a few of their other beers so far and been pretty impressed by them. Hopefully this one will be as good.

chairmanofthegourd

ABV: 4.5%

Style: Pumpkin Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Our fall seasonal was crafted with an inimitable blend of autumn spices and real pumpkin, and also serves as our loving tribute to a Hudson County original: Frank Sinatra, The Chairman of the Board!”

Random: I like the simplicity of their labels. When the laws in New Jersey changed, this brewery was one of the first that started putting beer on the shelves by me.

This beer poured with less than a quarter finger of white head. It dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a dark sienna color with almost no visible carbonation. The nose had maple syrup and light pumpkin pie spices. It was more like a brown ale to me than a pumpkin beer. The taste was also more like a brown ale than a pumpkin beer. It had toasted nuts, nutmeg and cinnamon. The body was medium thickness and way undercarbonated. It had a quick finish with spice. I just wasn’t really feeling this beer. If I wanted a brown ale, I would have gotten a brown ale. This isn’t the best of their offerings.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

