Three Floyds Robert The Bruce

Posted: June 21, 2017 in Reviews, Scottish Ale, Three Floyds Brewing Co. / Brewery & Pub

One of the things that I noticed when living out of a hotel was how much I missed my washer and dryer. I do enjoy doing laundry, plus I have an irrational fear when traveling that I will run out of clothes, although the longer I stayed out there, the fewer clothes that I would bring out there. This was a beer that I bought at Hop Yard 62 to bring back to the hotel room, since I was trying to have as many Three Floyds beers as possible.

roberthebruce

ABV: 6.5%

Style: Scottish Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “A full-bodied Scottish-style Ale with a well-rounded malty profile and roasted biscuit-like notes.”

Random: This comes in at 24 IBUs.

The beer poured with a half a finger of thick, beige colored head. It dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the plastic cup. The body of the beer was a dark sienna color and clear with moderate carbonation visible. The nose started with cola and quickly went into sweet, caramel malt, toffee, brown sugar and some molasses. The taste was definitely malt forward and followed the nose. The cola note was more subdued than in the nose, but the sweet, brown sugar and molasses notes followed next. It had some prunes and dark fruit as well. The body was on the medium side with moderate carbonation. It had a lengthy and sweet finish with the malts. Scottish ales are typically not my favorite style, but I thought this was a solid one that ended my night. I would have this again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

