Stillwater On Fleek

Posted: July 1, 2017 in American Double/Imperial Stout, Reviews, Stillwater Artisanal Ales

As I was eating my quesadilla, in between updating blog posts, one of my cats decided to investigate. Instead of trying to take some of my steak or chicken quesadilla, he decided to put his nose into the hot sauce. This caused him to sneeze, at which time, I had to pick him up and try to clean his nose as he was sneezing. He struggled a little bit, but I think I got most of the hot sauce off of him. It’s never a dull moment in this house. Anyways, let’s get to the beer, which I had out in Ohio.

onfleek

ABV: 13%

Style: American Double/Imperial Stout

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Big, overhyped imperial stouts, amirite? This one on fleek tho. The most amazing collaboration ever with Casita Cerveceria.”

Random: Whenever I have a big stout like this, it makes me crave chocolate milk.

The beer poured with a one finger, light brown head that dissipated slowly. It left a lot of lacing on the plastic cup. The body was an inky black with no visible carbonation due to the color. The nose was very fragrant with dark chocolate, oatmeal, prunes and some alcohol. The taste was filled with dark chocolate up front and quickly transitioned into coffee. It also had prunes, alcohol and cocoa powder. At the end of the sip, there was some tobacco and anise. The body was thick and oily with light carbonation. It had a lengthy finish with licorice and roasted malts. I enjoyed this beer, although the anise flavor was a bit too pronounced for my personal taste.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

