Three Floyds Gumballhead

Posted: July 2, 2017 in American Pale Wheat Ale, Reviews, Three Floyds Brewing Co. / Brewery & Pub

While I was out in Ohio, my buddy Scotty took me to a Blue Jackets game. We ended up getting tickets for $25 a pop and were about 10 rows up from the glass. I parked by his apartment in the Short North so we could grab dinner first and walk down to the arena. When I saw this beer on tap (which I had been searching out for years), I knew I had to review it.

gumballhead

ABV: 5.6%

Style: American Pale Wheat Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “An American wheat beer with a refreshing, crisp citrus finish. This delicious session beer is brewed with boatloads of Amarillo hops.”

Random: This is one of the few beers that lived up to the hype.

The beer poured with a one finger, pure white head. It took awhile to dissipate and left some lacing on the glass. The body was surprisingly clear for the style with moderate carbonation visible. The color was light orange. The nose was really hoppy with a lot of grass and some pine. It also had a lot of citrus, specifically tangerine and some mango as well. There was very little wheat to the beer. The taste was equally hoppy and there was still very little wheat presence. It had grass, hop resin, mango, pineapple and orange juice. The body was light with a lot of carbonation. The finish was quick and grassy. The flavors that I got from this beer were not even close to what I was expecting. Despite that, I was impressed by this one. I wish it was distributed to Jersey so I could have it again.

Untappd Rating: 4.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

