Columbus Bodhi DIPA

Posted: July 11, 2017 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Columbus Brewing Company, Reviews

For my last dinner in Ohio, two of my friends took me to Columbus Brewing Company. They have a brew pub on the outskirts of the city and I arrived about a half hour before my friends. The bar was packed, but I managed to find a seat and they had this beer on tap, which I was super excited to try.

bodhi

ABV: 8.5%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: This is now available in bottles as well as on draft.

Random: This was the only time that I saw this beer on tap during the month and a half I was in Ohio.

The beer poured with a finger of slightly off white head. It took awhile to dissipated and left a crown and some lacing on the glass. The body was a bright yellow and slightly cloudy. There was some carbonation visible. The nose was super hoppy. It had a lot of pine resin with some floral hop notes as well. It quickly followed up with some grapefruit pith. I didn’t pick up any malt on the nose. The taste was filled with floral hops up front. It quickly went into dank pine resin and some green vegetal notes. It also had tangerine juice and peel. The malt came through slightly at the end to balance it. The ABV was well-hidden. It had a thick and chewy body with high carbonation. The finish was lengthy and sticky. This is one of the few beers that was worth the hype. I’m so glad that I got to try this one.

Untappd Rating: 5.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

