Evil Genius Trick Or Treat

Posted: July 19, 2017 in American Porter, Evil Genius Beer Company, Reviews

Val made some chicken and wild rice soup for me. For some reason, I love soup. I’ve always loved soup, ever since I was a kid. Val does not share my love of soup, but indulges me when I want soup, except if it’s French onion. That’s one of the only soups I can only eat out since Val hates onions. I’m not sure what that has to do with this beer, but I guess I’m hungry.

trickortreat

ABV: 7.8%

Style: American Porter

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Our Chocolate Pumpkin Porter melds together rich chocolate decadence with fall spices. Notes of cinnamon, clove, and nutmeg collide with a delicious chocolate flavor to create a whirlwind of flavor in your glass.”

Random: I also tried a new hot sauce today. It’s Chalula Chipotle. Normally I just like the original, but this has a mellower spice and more smoke.

The beer poured with no head on top of the dark brown body. Due to the darkness of the beer, there was no carbonation visible. The nose had notes of milk chocolate and roasted malts. It also had a lactic acid notes with very little spice. The taste had a lot of cheap dark chocolate and a touch of smoke. There was decent bitterness with the same weird lactic note and light cinnamon. It had a really thin body with light carbonation. The finish was quick with dark chocolate. A bottle of this was $2, which came to $.17 per ounce. This beer was lacking in cohesive flavor. This beer was a letdown.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

