Barrier Suite

Posted: July 26, 2017 in American IPA, Barrier Brewing Company, Reviews

Since we had a concert in New York City, we decided to stay to stay overnight at a hotel since it’s such a long drive. My sister and I were texting since I was right by her old law school. It ended up that she also happened to be in the City and was staying at another hotel on the other side of town. Val and I went to brunch with her friends first and then ended up at Blind Tiger in the West Village, which is one of my favorite beer spots in the city. This was the beer that I had there.

barriersuite

ABV: 7.7%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: The taproom is open Wednesday through Sunday.

Random: My sister ended up meeting us at the Tiger too.

The beer poured with a half a finger of white head. It dissipated quickly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy orange with moderate carbonation. The nose had a lot of orange flesh with some Mandarin orange juice. There was some grapefruit rind in there as well. The taste was also a mix of citrus flesh and pith. I picked up tangerines, oranges and grapefruits too. It was more on the sweet side with not as much bitterness as I would have thought. The body was on the thin side with high carbonation. It had quick finish with citrus rind. I really liked the brightness of the beer. I wish it was more bitter, but I had no problem throwing it back.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

