Bolero Snort The Herd

This is the first post in a long time that I’ve actually done in real time. Due to all of the wedding planning and then the wedding and then work, I haven’t had time to replenish all of my scheduled posts. I guess that will be my job during the honeymoon. We decided to wait a few weeks after the wedding to go on our honeymoon and will be spending a week on the island of Hawaii and a week on Kauai and we’re super excited. We’ve both been working crazy hours and could use some time to relax. Anyways, let’s get to the beer.

ABV: 10.5%

Style: Quadrupel (Quad)

Trivia: This is a quad brewed with plums that was brewed for one of their anniversaries.

Random: I can’t wait to have tuna poke in Hawaii.

This beer poured with a huge, four finger, slightly off-white head. It dissipated slowly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a deep mahogany color with some visible carbonation. The nose was filled with red plums, candi sugar, nutmeg and yeast. The taste started with some hot booze to it and transitioned into an intense sweetness with red plums. There was some nutmeg and warm Fall spice as well. It had some bready yeast and a touch of leather. The body was medium thickness for the style with moderate carbonation. The finish was lengthy and sweet with plums. A bomber of this was $11.99, which came to $.55 per ounce. I thought this was a decent beer, but the sweetness was a bit too intense for me. I’m glad I tried this, but due to the price, I wouldn’t have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a comment