Captain Lawrence IPA

Val and I decided to watch a few episodes of Saturday Night Live this morning. A lot of the skits were ridiculously unfunny. I’m hoping that it gets better. We also watched the first episode of “A to Z” last night, which I thought was pretty good. It has the actress in it who was the mother in “How I Met Your Mother,” who I really liked. Anyways, onto the beer.

IMG_2707

ABV: 7%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “We jumped the gun along the way making our Imperial Reserve I.P.A. before a base but it worked out for us. Working backwards gave us an incredible profile to work off of to make a very well balanced I.P.A. with a lighter, softer touch than our Imperial version but still packed with hops.”

Random: Rutgers beat Michigan yesterday, but by a very small margin. At least they won.

This brew poured with a huge, three finger white head. It dissipated slowly and left lots of lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy and dusky orange with moderate carbonation visible. The nose was very fragrant with grapefruit and floral notes. There wasn’t any malt to it. The taste was more balanced between hop and malt. The hops were upfront and manifested as grapefruit and flowers and then transitioned into light pale malt. The body was on the thicker side of the style with generous carbonation. The finish was long with the pale malt and flowers in the taste. This was a flavorful, easy-drinking IPA. I really enjoyed it and would definitely have it again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a comment