Southampton Keller Pils

So, I just saw on a local news website that Rutgers is having more issues. Being a Rutgers Alum, I have obvious opinions about the issue, which I won’t go into here. But, what I found interesting about the article was in the comments. People were accusing the newspaper of specifically targeting Rutgers as an age discrimination case came out about a high up. Now, seriously? A newspaper targeting a school when they have proof that a case was filed? Ridiculous. I can only hope that Rutgers cleans their act up and I can stop reading the embarrassing articles (daily) about my school. Anyways, brew time.
IMG_1431

ABV: 5%

Style: German Pilsener

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Visit and Old World lager brewery and the brewmaster will insist that you enjoy a “keller” beer direct from the aging tank. To a brewer this is beer at its purest: unfiltered, nuanced and gently carbonated.”

Random: I just noticed that my office still has some of its Christmas decorations up. Perhaps it’s time to put those away…

This beer poured with a half a finger of thin white head. It dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy, light yellow color with high carbonation visible through out. Notes of lemon peel and lager yeast came out on the nose. The taste was a bigger version of the nose. I got the same lemon peel and lager yeast, with some sweetness at the end of the sip and a touch of mineral water. The flavors weren’t overpowering, but they were definitely there. The body was on the thicker side with high carbonation. The finish was quick with mineral water. This wasn’t an outstanding beer, but definitely a solid offering from Southampton that I’m glad I tried.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a comment